Poison Drips

In my Founder’s letter I briefly discussed how imperative it was to remove poison drips from your life.

For me recently, a big one has been my phone. I feel attached to it, inseparable. When I’m not doing anything I know I should be reading or expanding myself but its so tempting. Whilst reading I could get a notification, I’d open it, then go through the rest of my Facebook.

This experience sounds almost analogous to someone’s experience with drugs and I suppose that’s what it is for me. I give it my resources (time and the opportunity cost that goes with it) and it in return gives me a curated dose of dopamine coursing through my brain.

Of course it’s not all bad, technology has enabled me to do wondrous things, learn online, contact people from across the world, even write this post.

The message is make your phone – or whatever crux you have, work for you and not the other way around.
image

Leave a Reply

