The Gender Chasm

This post should probably be prefaced with this video.

In the video our favourite local neighbourhood Social Justice Warrior (SJW) mockingly asks how Oculus will try and address the gender gap within their ranks. Because this woman said something that fits in the social narrative and seems to e progressive she is met with applause. Why wouldn’t she? She’s a woman talking about the issues of her sex in society. But of course John Carmack fires back by saying that actually in Oculus they hire by ability rather than by appearance.

In recent years there’s been a huge push to get more women into STEM subjects (Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths) because of a huge dearth in the number of women who take these subjects. It’s resulted in companies and universities giving women an advantage over men in terms of acceptance REGARDLESS of how qualified they are. This is happening because of overwhelming amounts of pressure from feminists (and their white knight counterparts) pushing to solve the gender gap.

All of this assumes that the gender parity should be equal (e.g. that there should be equal amounts of women and men) We find that in most of the STEM subjects are male dominated and most of the languages and teaching heavily female orientated (the question should also raised as to why no feminist is discussing the overtly female subjects being oppressive) We find that this isn’t because of some bias by educators, in fact it seems professors are trying to act against the stereotype, favouring women candidates.

We assume that women and men are the same but in reality they are very different (not to say they aren’t equal, because they are). It all comes back to evolutionary psychology and the different roles that men and women played. (That comment was not driven by our chauvinistic, misogynistic culture, rather by fact.) Because of their different roles, the brains of each sex developed differently. Ask an endocrinologist and they will tell you that hormonally we are very different creatures, a neurologist will tell you how differently our brains operate, a psychologist how we think and a philosopher how we perceive the world.

In the face of all these differences, should we really expect that interest in subjects should be equal for both sexes. That university places be allocated based on gender, not ability.

The gender pay gap that is so frequently referred to by budding feminists shows that women on average earn less than men. Again this can simply be refuted by the fact that women and men choose different occupations. Statistically speaking, there are more female nurses and teachers and more male engineers. This is the origin of the pay gap. Not some plot by our male-centric overlords whom are striving to oppress the female kind.

It should also be said that whilst men and women are not the same, they should be afforded equal opportunities, and that goes both ways. Men should be allowed to choose teaching without discrimination as much as women shouldn’t be hindered from becoming firemen – as long as the only factor in them being successful is their ability.

12 thoughts on “The Gender Chasm

  1. I agree! I was made a comment to my friend the other day, saying that women had it harder physically (periods, childbirth, pmt), and she went mad, telling me that I was discriminating against men. But as you said, acknowledging differences does not mean discrimination, it’s simply true. We are different-but still equal x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OK so I was reading Kate’s blog and I found this… I’ll jump right in (with my problems. Sorry (for your problematic article :/)).
    Firstly, to quote: “It’s resulted in companies and universities giving women an advantage over men in terms of acceptance REGARDLESS of how qualified they are.” Could I get a source for that, please?
    Next, I don’t think the problem with the gender gap is… exactly to do with equal amounts of men/women in (x) field. It’s more to do with the fact that people hiring discriminate against women. An example: in major symphony orchestras, women in the top 5 major orchestras made up less than 5% of the musicians performing. So they started blind auditions (a screen to conceal the candidate) but they were STILL hiring more men… Then they put down a carpet so high heels didn’t click on the floor. Guess what? They hired women from 30% to 55% more.
    And this paragraph here: “We assume that women and men are the same but in reality they are very different (not to say they aren’t equal, because they are). It all comes back to evolutionary psychology and the different roles that men and women played. (That comment was not driven by our chauvinistic, misogynistic culture, rather by fact.) Because of their different roles, the brains of each sex developed differently. Ask an endocrinologist and they will tell you that hormonally we are very different creatures, a neurologist will tell you how differently our brains operate, a psychologist how we think and a philosopher how we perceive the world.”
    We’ve arrived at the most ignorant part of this article. (Don’t worry. Your mistake is extremely common.) Oh, boy. Don’t worry, I’m here to educate.
    *gross sobbing*
    The brains of men and women aren’t psychologically distinct. You cannot take a “male” brain and a “female” brain and tell them apart from one another. It’s more like a spectrum. (Wow! What a big surprise. Was there any other time where humans made a mistake of categorising humans into boxes? Hmm…… Let … me… have… a … think…)
    I’ll link you to an article about it:
    http://www.rawstory.com/2013/02/study-debunks-notion-that-men-and-women-are-psychologically-distinct/
    To tie this point together, I’ll bring in this sentence: “In the face of all these differences, should we really expect that interest in subjects should be equal for both sexes.”
    (You’re missing a question mark, by the way. It’s making me really uncomfortable. Just thought I’d let you know.)
    Now that we’ve cleared THAT up *points to the above*, I think, uh, yes, it should be, more or less. The only thing holding us back is society. (Woo hoo! Another surprise. The world is just full of surprises.) Society holds standards for different genders. Society expects women to be more caring, for men to be more dominating, etc etc etc… So is it really such a surprise that women dominate the more caring professions?
    Now for my penultimate nitpick: “The gender pay gap that is so frequently referred to by budding feminists shows that women on average earn less than men. Again this can simply be refuted by the fact that women and men choose different occupations.”
    Darling… the pay gap is in the same occupation…
    Finally (FINALLY finally FINALLY), I have this quote here: “Men should be allowed to choose teaching without discrimination”.
    Sigh.
    The thing is.
    They aren’t being discriminated against!
    There’s actually been multiple sociological studies on this, and guess what they found? That men in female-dominated fields are actually treated specially, are fast-tracked to the top, get more credit for their work, greater pay and benefits… need I go on?
    Proof?
    Here’s one study. Here’s another. And another.

    I’m sorry if this is scrappy. I’m tired (of this FUCKING SHIT – and also just tired). I hope you learnt something, because god this took a lot of effort. (So appreciate it, you bastard, and correct your problematic ways.)
    And I also hope I didn’t come off as too mean. If I did, I’m sorry. And I’m also (sort of? Maybe?) sorry this is rather long. And also a mess. Did I already say that?
    Love from Yuan, an old friend

    Liked by 1 person

    1. http://m.pnas.org/content/112/17/5360 link for the idea of women being given priority.
      And for your symphony orchestra paper, you should probably have added that the 5% figure is from the 1970s so a little antiquated. You seem to have misread this paper as well, this 30% to 55% number is just an estimated figure on how much of an effect blind screenings have had on this increase in the number of women in orchestras (this tidbit shows that up to 70% of the increase in numbers of females is not at all down to sex), NOT that the numbers mystically jumped 25% after the misogynistic orchestra directors couldn’t hear the sound of clicking heels.
      Whilst your “raw story” certainly talks about this continuum of circumstances and discounts the rigid categorisation held in place by “society” it is also clear to point out that “gender differences on average are not under dispute” and merely suggests that there is much more common ground than expected by “society”.
      I’m not even going to get into this society debate, frankly you’re not even debating it, you’re just placing a glass ceiling in front of your ambition. As the oculus guy says he doesn’t care who he hires as long as they suit the job.
      OK for the pay gap bit I may have forgotten to add a bit about men and women in the same jobs, an explanation for why women aren’t paid as much as men is is because they tend to work part time more, work less hours in a day, in America (and maybe in the UK) cost more to insure (because of pregnancy and what not). And before you whip into a feminist frenzy about all this misogynistic categorisation here’s the stats from some American labour force survey thing
      http://www.bls.gov/news.release/atus.nr0.htm
      Yeh and this idea of men getting priority in female dominated roles is just the mirror image of what I suggested in my first point, not some kowtowing of the weaker sex to their penis-bearing overlords

      Much love
      Kevin

      FUCKING SHIT (felt like I had to return the pleasantry)

      Like

      1. Whatever. I still had a point
        OK but not entirely sure what that makes your stance on women/men liking different subjects professions blah blah? Still think that because I identify with a particular gender means that I enjoy, I don’t know, home economics?
        “suggests that there is much more common ground than expected by “society”.” Uh, so, yeah is that not my point…? I mean, society expects women – nuture, care, communication etc, men – maths science etc… so… common ground (I’m sure you can piece together the logic by yourself, it’s not that hard)… I’m not entirely sure what your point is by that paragraph…
        Uh, I’M placing a glass ceiling in front of my ambition? Surely you must realise there are less privileged beings than others and not everyone has the luxury of open-minded accepting parents and freedom to choose their own profession. I’m sure you are familiar with parents who place values on tradition, typical gender roles, blah blah…
        And by the way, not all men have penises. Don’t be so silly and cisnormative.

        Lots of love,
        Yuan

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You’re right I forgot to check my cis privileges.
        I suppose my point was that the research shows why there is a majority in some subjects and the minority occurs due to this common ground (which happens even though “society” doesn’t expect it).
        Nice Asian dig, and your point about familial expectations is pretty valid.
        With the deepest respect,
        Kevin

        Like

  3. OK so the links didn’t exactly work… Or the italics… (Goddamnit)
    Also I forgot to link to the blind auditions thing so here it is: http://www.nber.org/papers/w5903
    And the bottom 3 links to the studies: http://dspace.brunel.ac.uk/bitstream/2438/3799/1/Work%20Employment%20and%20Society.pdf
    http://books.google.com/books/about/Still_a_Man_s_World.html?id=3cXIvGbwWx0C
    http://www.ucpress.edu/book.php?isbn=9780520201088

    Also I really hope you don’t take me calling you a bastard in a bad way. Because I /kind of/ forgot we haven’t talked in like 3 years and I meant it in a really friendly way I promise I’m really sorry I’m rambling God you don’t want a piece of shit like me on your blog

    ANYWAY

    Bye for now

    Like

  4. Why can’t I reply to your comment directly? Damn your theme.
    Hmph. Not convinced on why men/women/other would be different in this way. But I’ll leave it for now.
    I don’t suppose you would believe me if I told you it wasn’t intentional.

    Well, this was some amusing banter. I suppose I will see you on your next post I deign to lay my holy hands on. (Ha ha. Just kidding. My sense of superiority isn’t that strong.)

    Best wishes,
    Yuan

    Like

Leave a Reply

