My 5th Biggest Regret.

As I write this post my blood is boiling, my stomach feels as if it has been gut-punched by the falcon of justice. My throat feels like its been douched by a toilet brush, repeatedly. My small intestine feels a pain, akin to having a endoscopy done by a furious, blind bodybuilder who accidentally picked up a jack hammer instead of the fibre-optic camera.

I regret every moment of my experience, yet I don’t. I feel like an imbecilic moron wearing a shock collar which buzzes every time I scratch my ear. I scratched my ear, a lot.

Not to say the experience was wholly bad, frankly it was an incredible one, one I will have to do again. It felt like that trip we took climbing up a mountain. By the end I was dead but it was an incredible experience and I would do it again at the drop of a stool.

This event which has so dramatically changed my life? (and posture as I hunch over writing this).

The “Prima Taste Singapore Laksa La Mian” For those who don’t speak Asian, or random instant noodles speak, this is the pinnacle of the noodle tower. The Aston Martin DB5 of noodles. Simply put, it is to this industry what Jordan was to basketball.

This thing is incredible. Since its inception its consistently been in the top 5 instant noodles in the world. Its destroyed colonies of bacteria in guts around the world.

Creating it is an experience. The noodle block is a circle of perfect udon, large enough to feed 2. The broth comes in two parts (TWO PARTS!!), the first a wet (WET!!) sort of paste, lovingly crafted by old malay women, slaving over a pestle and mortar, to create this aromatic, fragrant paste. The second is just a bit of coconut milk powder, this in its own right is a revolution.

LIKE THE MOST SPECTACULAR FUSION THEY COMBINE TO PRODUCE A BEING STRONGER THAN THE SUM OF ITS COMPOSITE PARTS. SOMETHING DESIGNED TO BE SO SAVOURY THAT IT INADVERTENTLY RIPS APART THE DIGESTIVE CANAL OF A YOUNG BOY, ADDICTED TO ITS SECRET SAUCE.

this thing is good, seriously good. Almost worth all the pain it causes.

One thought on “My 5th Biggest Regret.

Leave a Reply

