Comparing With Other People

image

Finally managed to use up one of these amnesty posts (posts that I never published because of some strange reason). It’s 10:42pm on halloween. I was going to write some post on slut-shaming, that’ll have to be tomorrow’s post. Just came back from watching spectre which is incredibly good. (still can’t believe that Italian woman is 50ish). It’s lovely coming home and realizing you still have to do 80 pushups before you go to bed. (the joy)
Anyway enjoy the post:

Couldn’t really think of what to write today. Was tempted to do something on the halo effect but honestly I couldn’t think of anything to write about it, maybe tomorrow.

So writers block forced me onto my Instagram. Unlike my arty friends feed which is stunning pictures of scenery and landscapes mines is filled with memes, tumblr posts and pictures of random people that I have tenuous connections with.

There’s a meme of a professional footballer saying how at 19 he was playing pro and how others his age are just playing as him on FIFA. Dunno why I stopped on that one but it seemed similar to something that I read last night about Warren Buffet (never read the Snowball – the thing is a tome, something like 800 pages). At the ripe old age of 15 he’d already had a couple of small businesses, made about £20000 a year and was already making connections in the wider world.

At 15 I’ve done a bit, just no where near the level of Buffet. But I try not to despair. The reason I’ve heard of this story is because it is Warren Buffet one of the richest men in the world. In these books I don’t hear the story of Jim Dim who lived a wholly average life, only the greatest and the best are celebrated and talked about.

Suppose the moral of the story today is that you shouldn’t bother comparing your lives with anyone elses in despair. You know of their life because they are a perfect maelstrom of qualities that make them good at what they do. Michael Jordan has the perfect body, attitude and had some of the best coaches in sport period. Rather look at their stories as inspiration, myths and legends to look up to and compete against. The top 1% isn’t as hard as you think it is. In a world of 7 billion people this enclave is composed of 700 million people – I’m sure not all of them are perfect.

Leave a Reply

