The Diet Manifesto

Another one of these stupid things that I type out whilst on a call.

Diet was one of those things I always wanted to do well. Bulletproof Executive was something I got into early on, it was probably my introduction into Podcasts (my actual introduction, is lost in the mists of time, probably from…I don’t know. Frankly I don’t know how I found out about Bulletproof executive, I found out about him before the coffee was famous).

I learnt about stuff like paleo and high-fat diets, how the media had demonized fat, and how stuff like sugar and salt were the enemy. Whilst fat in all forms isn’t to be ingested in large quantities, things like butter (grass fed is an imperative apparently) and bacon were to be enjoyed. We discussed ketosis, a state of burning funny little molecules that the brain is apparently adapted to.

Dave Asprey, the great salesman that he is (for he is a salesman first,and a biohacker second) sold me on the idea on brain fog, how it impeded his life. And how it could be easily lifted just by changing your diet. To be honest I thought it was the answer to all my problems, I’ve talked frequently about my memory problems and this seemed like a simple cure.

I never really adapted to his ideas. Sure we bought sockeye salmon a few times, and I tried butter in my coffee (surprisingly tasty) then Tim Ferriss told me to put an egg in it, (that was truly repugnant)  but I never had the courage or the commitment to properly commit anything.

So my rowing coach decided to send us some nutrition guide on what we should be fuelling up on to prepare us for races and stuff like that. I should be eating 3500-5000 calories a day. That’s pretty scary, I’m pretty sure the recommended is 2000 calories a day. Then again I never really bothered following the health standards, what with the sleeping enough and the being allowed to eat a decent amount of sugar which will cause excess inflammation and cause me to die sooner rather than later.

Oh well, that’s this post over, I think I’m improving at this writing whilst on a call, only a little though, everything still seems a little jerky and awkward.

Leave a Reply

