Life Passing Me By

Flashbacks of car crash’s, mums pregnant, mum dies, gets c section, baby comes out.

Okay I’m lost, I don’t know what to write, so I’ve just written some spark notes version of a friend’s English essay.

I seem at a loss for words today, my sleeps pretty banged up and I keep having stupidly vivid dreams and nightmares. My watch thing says I’m getting about 6 hours a night, I’m really in bed for like 9 hours, so I’m missing 3 hours of precious sleep. Some people can operate without sleep but it really doesn’t work for me. Like I can barely think, I’m sluggish and lethargic, words don’t come easily and when they do it seems awkward and convoluted (more so than normal). I’m not really sure why I’m getting such bad sleep, I have this nagging suspicion its because I’ve started chewing gum, not like a lot but a few pieces a day. I’m one of those paranoid kids who thinks a tiny bit of aspartame or saccharine will kill me, so that’s my issue of the week. My gum is killing me slowly because the evil corporations want me slow and lethargic.

I would be loathe to end there so I decided to put in an hour of helping old people to improve my quality of things to write about. I come in a little late because my I was being slow so I got relegated to the bad jobs, going into rooms and asking people what they wanted for dinner. I got George, he’s probably not called George but it seems right for him.

I walk in and there’s this man sitting on his chair, one arm seems a little dishevelled and is lying on his lap. I ask him if he wants dinner. I get a flat no. He’s too weak he says. I’m about to leave when he calls me back in. He wants to go to bed. I’m caught in a dilemma. I’m not really allowed to help this guy, frankly I’m not even allowed to serve dinner, I still haven’t handed in any of my forms. It’s a sad sight watching someone so old and decrepit that they can’t even dress themselves, I helped him out of his clothes and into his pajamas before tucking him into bed, it’s a strange feeling working with someone so vulnerable, where they have to trust strangers.

Leave a Reply

