4:00 – 5:00

One of my more productive habits is reading youtube comments, they really act as a kaleidoscopic view into the real great parts of humanity, the dregs and the bottom feeders that subsist attached to actual content.

One aspect of these people is this constant need for oneupmanship, actually if I’m honest I don’t really see that much of it in Youtube but I thought I’d use that as a launch pad because everyone knows what a shitshow the comment section is.

Oneupmanship as defined by the Google is “the technique or practice of gaining an advantage or feeling of superiority over another person.”and it’s something I find detestable.

The way our society works is that someone’s value is based off of what other people think of them, how many instagram likes they get or how many chicks they’ve banged, using this metric, people need to get on up on everyone else in order to seem better and cooler. It’s a form of insecurity I suppose this incessant need to be seen to be better than everyone else.

Seen being a key word. There is a difference between seeing as being better than someone else and being better than someone else. To be truly confident and to possess a feeling of mastery is internal and not affected by outside stimuli, this is a core confidence. What people who do oneupmanship look for is a situational confidence which disappears in time and is transitory.

What one should try and cultivate is a core confidence and belief in oneself, not a fragile image that shatters under inspection so yeah, try and love yourself.

One thought on “4:00 – 5:00

  1. I also really like reading youtube comments. I usually get distracted by them and spend way too much time scrolling down, sometimes getting caught up in reading the most stupid exchanges. Luckily I have yet to participate in those ridiculous threads. I stay away from joining in because I know I would get way too pissed off with people’s stupidity. It really is more than ignorance. These people have fragile egos and, I believe, different values. At least some of them. I guess it can be easy to get caught up in one of those common nit-picky arguments even if you’re relatively sensible with your time. So I can only imagine how it must be to be a stupid person for whom silly arguments really matter. You’re right: there’s a definite need for one-upmanship. I have also noticed a trend of men picking on teenage girls, often trying to make them look stupid because of their age and gender. It’s at once interesting and infuriating how misguided people can be.

    By the way, I really like the wide range of vocabulary you use in your blog posts. Oh, and to guess your mood writing this post: Slightly frustrated with other people’s behaviour but confident in knowing that you don’t behave like that?

    Like

Leave a Reply

