Just Fucking Own It

In my luck of selecting work experiences I managed to happen on two places that did pretty similar work. Actually if I’m honest it’s completely different work, one looks at cancers and the other at motor neuron disease but they both use zebra fish which I would say is a huge coincidence but apparently they’re one of the most used animal models so this entire paragraph has no point. 

Work experience always makes me think about the future and what I’ll be doing, last year afterwards I started a blog post and who knows what I’ll do after this year, start a vlog? 

Anyway the last place was a bit of a bore compared to this place, at least for me. Yeah the people were incredible last time but this time I actually got to do shit instead of just watching people do shit. To elaborate I’m doing medical research and the guys set me this challenge of extracting some DNA and then doing some weird PCR shit to ut. Anyway I’ve done it like 5 times by now and he’s kinda just let me play around the lab on my own so I just plug in the earphones and mess around with expensive chemicals in miniscule proportions (never knew people actually used a microlitre) and its actually crazy fun, sure I make a bunch of mistakes like forgetting to shake up the solution and having to redo it all and that one time I massacred dozens of fish but whatever its legal as hell. 

I got let out of work early today because technical stuff no one cares about and I thought I’d walk home. In the time since school broke up I seem to have gone mad and forgotten all my social conditioning, it’s hard to describe it without sounding like I belong in an asylum but it was kinda a combination of walking, trying to rap then bursting into hysterics and bad gang signs that induced more laughter. I’m sure anyone that saw me phoned home about the loony Asian but whatever I had more fun than them. Though I am a little concerned that one day I’m just gonna be shut down by some white Knight who forces me to conform to society and return to my role as a meek Asian – that is to become a scientist or doctor and marry at 35 to have sex once with the intention to procreate – so only those deemed cool by the societal norm can have fun. 

Shoutout to the kid walking on the road in the sandals, power move. I wore sandals in china because it’s too hot to care about aesthetics and sadly I didn’t own it, I walked around with my head bowed meekly in shame. 

I’m not sure whether or not to include this but why not in the bits during the day when I’m just using the computer someone suggested I look up American universities, naturally I can’t afford that so I checked up scholarships and during my procrastinationary browsing found something that interested me. An opportunity of “high achieving” 16 or 17 year olds to spend a semester at some private school in America. One of the problem of getting into American universities is that we can’t really do SATs here in Scotland so this would pretty much sort it. I’m not really sure about the logistics because I’d be missing months of school and would probably be hampered in my exams here but it’s worth a little bit of investigating plus I reckon I could totally with the right motivation learn them both simultaneously plus in our final year the exam results don’t really need to be that good as long as I do real well in school next year. If I do apply and decide (stupidly) to provide a link to this blog and some incredibly thorough person decides to read through this just beware, I write a post every day, doesn’t mean that most – if any – are good. 

Leave a Reply

