Pissing Myself Off

sotd: superman – jon Bellion  listen to this then watch his “making of” video, honestly the coolest thing on the internet.

I’ve started to remember a lot of stuff that I used to write about on this blog. One of the big themes was pissing myself off. I didn’t do the 200 pressups a day to get strong but because I wanted to stop being such a bitch and being comfortable all the time. A quote I’m not where it’s from or how it actually goes is that the biggest problem is modern society is we’ve made it way too easy to be comfortable. I could live my life without really being pissed off or annoyed but that would be unfulfilling as shit, it’s through constantly pissing yourself off where it becomes fun. Another thing I did to piss myself off was to take cold showers, I’m not sure how many times I actually did, I’d imagine less than a week but I do actually remember doing it. I quit because I think I wasn’t actually getting clean, just dunking my head under and running out of the shower.

Problem is nowadays I really don’t find much joy in a hot shower, my shower has 2nd tier water pressure so it isn’t very good and I spend about 10 minutes just moping around and pissing about. Last night I was playing a bunch of ted talks whilst failing my physics and this recommendation comes up of this guy doing 30 days of cold showering. I check it out and I’m not sure what the guy is on but he literally attributes everything in his life to cold showers, he no longer fails school because of cold showers, becomes more assertive because of cold showers and learns to achieve nirvana because of cold showers. I learnt two things from that videos. Firstly that there’s teens doing incredible journeys out there and also cold showers are probably good.

I got my hair cut today finally and planned on a cold shower afterwards, During the cut I was just terrified of the cold shower afterwards. I jump into the shower, well I stick my feet in under the water and it feels surprisingly warm, I stick my head under and recoil in horror. Turns out my feet were just freezing and the water was a little warmer than frostbite. I stick my head under for a few seconds, try breathing slowly so I don’t freak out but I inhale a bunch of baltic water and splutter and die. Eventually I manage to coax the rest of myself under the shower wash myself off and jump back out, dying of coldness.

I mean I used to hate getting out of the shower because it’s bloody freezing but after a  cold shower every thing else is warmer.

Is there any benefit? Well I’ve done it once so far but I dunno maybe I feel more energetic, I can feel this weird sensation of almost still freezing under my skin and I’m sure there’s hormonal benefits like testosterone but on the flipside I’m pretty sure the cold shower managed to castrate me. If anything it builds mental toughness, eventually my brain will yield and stop getting pissed off about the cold showers and that’s worth a stupid amount . I will continue this habit. Like with the pressups eventually your body just lets you get on with it and there’s almost no effort to do it, that’s when it gets fun.

5 thoughts on “Pissing Myself Off

  1. The thought of taking cold showers horrifies me. How did you do it?! Then again I don’t have as much testosterone because I’m female but still… The horrors outway the benefits for me. But go for it – attribute that random good thing that will happen in a few days to cold showers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

